Quality Registrar Systems

Reliable Certification Registrar

HALAL CERTIFICATE

What is HALAL

Halal is often used in reference to foods and drinks, i.e. foods that are permissible for Muslims to eat or drink under Islamic Shariʻah (law). The criteria specifies both what foods are allowed, and how the food must be prepared. The foods addressed are mostly types of meat and animal tissue.

The most common example of non-Halal (or Haraam) food is pork. Pork meat and its products cannot be eaten or used by Muslims at all due to historical, cultural, and hygienic concerns. Foods other than pork can also be Haraam. The criteria for non-pork items include their source, the cause of the animal’s death, and how it was processed.

The food must come from a supplier that uses Halal practices. Muslims must also ensure that all foods (particularly processed foods), as well as non-food items like cosmetics and pharmaceuticals, are Halal. Frequently, these products contain animal by-products or other ingredients that are not permissible for Muslims to eat or use on their bodies.

 

4

HALAL and HACCP

  • dotBoth employ Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) and Good Hygiene Practice (GHP)
  • dotPreventive in nature Based on holistic approach – not standalone
  • dotMicrobial, chemical and physical contaminants
  • dotControlled processes
  • dotSanitized environment and safe inputs
  • dotHealthy employees

3

HALAL Food Industry and Market

  • dotUS$ 3-5 Trillion market
  • dot1.7 Billion Muslims worldwide
  • dotHalal brands as major acceptance for Muslims and also acceptable for non-Muslims
  • dotDemand exceeding for supply of Halal products
  • dotPreference to Islamic countries for supply of Halal products
  • dotBig trade opportunities with Middle East, Africa and Non-Islamic countries with significant Muslim populations.

2

Need and Importance of HALAL Certification

  • dotPig derivatives are used in 185 daily use products.
  • dot44% of global gelatin is made from pig skin. Gelatin is used in food, cosmetics, pharmaceuticals.
  • dotPig traces found in protein powders used in poultry industry.
  • dotPig enzymes have been confirmed in several cigarette filters in Europe.
  • dotAdditives (preservatives, emulsifiers, stabilizers, colures, flavors, sweeteners etc) are used in all type of foods and can be derived from Haram sources.
  • dotNon-alcoholic beers and drinks do contain the traces of alcohol.
  • dotEnzymes (Rennit, Pepsin, Collagen) derived from pigs, Haram or non-slaughtered animals.
  • dotUse of wine and alcohol in food preparations.
  • dotNatural Red Colour (E120) extracted from an insect blood.
  • dotCarbon filters used for mineral water processing can be derived from animal bones.
  • dotMachinery parts (e.g. leather) may be derived from Haram animal body parts.

1

Industry to get HALAL Certification

  • dotAnimals; fish; egg production; milk production; beekeeping; fishing; hunting; trapping
  • dotFruits; vegetables; cereals; spices; horticultural products
  • dotSlaughtering meat, poultry, eggs, dairy and fish products
  • dotFresh fruits and fresh juices; preserved fruits; fresh vegetables; preserved vegetables
  • dotCanned products; biscuits; snacks; oil; drinking water; beverages; pasta; flour; sugar; salt
  • dotAnimal feed; fish feed
  • dotHotels; restaurants, retail outlets; shops; wholesalers
  • dotWater supply; cleaning; sewage; waste disposal;
  • dotDevelopment of product, process and equipment; veterinary services
  • dotTransport and storage
  • dotProcess equipment; vending machines
  • dotAdditives; dietary supplements; cleaning agents;
  • dotProcessing aids, biocultures and microorganisms
  • dotPackaging material
  • dotCosmetics, textile, leather products etc.